Disable Facebook App Auth for Offers

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2016 02:47PM PDT

​You can set up a Woobox offer to avoid the Facebook App Authorization if you set it up without using any of the following settings (see which ones your offer is currently using in the Facebook Auth Dialog section of the offer dashboard):**

  • Open Graph Sharing
  • One entry per Facebook user
  • One entry per Facebook user per day
  • One vote per Facebook user
  • Bonus Entries per Facebook friend who enters after entrant
  • Save Additional User Information (via the Form Fields section of the offer dashboard)

If you want to use any of those, it's going to require that users "Authorize" the app before they can enter the contest.  You can still use (in place of the above settings) the "one entry per email address [per day]" and/or award bonus entries per "user that clicks and enters from entrant's shared link."

You can use FanGate without requiring the App Authorization when users enter within Facebook (in the Page tab); however, users who enter via mobile device will be entering outside of Facebook, so using FanGate for your offer would still require them to authorize the app.

If you'd like to use any of the above features, but don't want the default Woobox App Authorization, you can use a custom app for your offer.  This applies to all the above features except Open Graph Sharing, which isn't available for use with custom apps yet.  You can read more about using a custom app for your Woobox offers in our blog post.


   **The above instructions and settings apply to the old style builder/promotions. In new builder offers, there is a Facebook Auth Dialogue button on the Overview page.

Inactive:
Inactive FB Auth

Active:
Active FB Auth

Clicking on the Facebook Auth Dialogue button from the Overview page will take you to the Edit screen where you can adjust these settings. 

Since Facebook has changed the way they share information, there are now just 2 settings (both on the Edit screen) that will enable or disable Facebook Auth: Entry restriction and Voting restriction. 
Entry restriction

Voting restriction

If "Facebook user" or "Facebook user per day" are selected in these settings, the user will be required to be logged into Facebook and authorize the app they are interacting with.